top of page
Search
shiweih4

Where I'm Starting


Hi, my name is Shiwei Hu, you can call me Chris if you like. I am a second-year student at UCI and my major is Computer Science. I come from Tianjin, a big city near the capital of China.

Link. Here is a introduction of myself with six words, this will tell you more about me.


The last writing course I took before 39A is Academic English 20C. This course focuses on paraphrasing and summarizing articles. From that course, the first thing I learned is how to find key points and get themes from articles. The second thing I learned is how to write a comprehensive and well-constructed research paper. Also, I learned how to utilize the sources and citations I found that are related with my topic.


I believe I stlll need more learning and practice to become a better writer and communicator. My weaknesses on writing is I feel difficult to organize a well-construct sentences or to transfer my thought into a fluent sentence. This always results me using more time to finish an essay than my classmates. In order to follow the instruction, I usually begin to write my essay as the assignment published.

On the Language and Grammar Diagnostic at Connect, I got 66 out of 100. My major mistakes made in the diagnostic is the use of punctuation. I mistaked six of these multiple choices. Also, I made mistakes on some grammar questions such as how to use comma correctly, which proun reference is correctly used, and which sentence meets the subject-verb agreement. I am surprised that my mistakes are all made from same type of questions, I thought there would be problems on other parts.


From the syllabus, I first got the main topic of this courses, "How Do Disney films contribute to the construction of society's values and norms about gender roles? Have these values changed over time?" Then, I see the contact information for professor. Follow up with some requirements and rules of this courses. Finally, it shows the assignments and course works. After reading the syllabus, I look through the grade contract, it tells me that I will at lease receive a B if I follow the course instruction and finish all the course works on time. Also, it tells me what will influence my grade and where I can see my grade during the quarter.

31 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pre-production Meeting Summary

The day and time of your pre-production meeting : 2021/2/15 19:00PM Jiasheng(Leo) Zhu host of the podcast, speaks in every segment Speaks...

4 Comments


mingchm
Jan 18, 2021

Hi Chris, I really wnat to learn how to find key points in my articale as well. Wish we can acheve this goal together when we finish this course.

Like

nhienvu1992
Jan 18, 2021

Hey Chris, I also tend to spend a lot of time completing my writing assignments. Hopefully we can all improve our writing skills by the end of this course!

Like

Ruihan Wang
Ruihan Wang
Jan 16, 2021

Hi Chris!

I am pleased to hear that you come from Tianjian since I really like Tianjin Allegro. By the way, Chinese savior crepe is also my favorite! I can't find the authentic taste of Chinese savior crepe anywhere instead of Tianjin.

Like

Lynda Haas
Lynda Haas
Jan 15, 2021

Hi Chris.. welcome to the class!

Like
bottom of page